Return to Massapequa
Library home page

 

General Reference
Art
Auto Repair
Biography/Genealogy
Business/Financial
Career Guidance/
   College Information
Community
Computer Skills
Culture/Social History
Current Events/
   Social Issues
Dictionaries
Directories
Education
Encyclopedias
Geography/
   World Events
Health
History
Images/Graphics
Kids/Teens
Language Learning
Literature/Books
Music
Newspapers
Science/Technology
Spanish Language
Test Preparation
Vocabulary

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

Online Databases


We provide access to a wide variety of databases that offer magazine, journal, and newspaper articles; research databases on specific subjects such as literature, music, art, science, business or health, and reader's advisory.

* To access these databases, you will need your Massapequa library card barcode *


General Reference

Academic OneFile - the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.

EBSCOhost
- Search EBSCOhost for information on business, health, current events, arts, science and entertainment from magazines and newspapers.

Encyclopedia Britannica - Britannica Online Public Library Edition contains comprehensive content for all patrons—from elementary students to college students, from business professionals to curious seniors. Whether it’s frogs or physics, gardening or geography, Britannica Online Public Library Edition covers it all. Extensive and thorough yet intuitive and fast, this powerful collection delivers trustworthy information that you need.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia - This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.

General OneFile - A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics; business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology and many general interest topics.

Grolier Online - Grolier Online includes Encyclopedia Americana: in-depth information for older students and adults, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia: quick reference with rich media for middle school & higher, Grolier Online Kids for grades three through five, The New Book of Knowledge: reference and current events for elementary school & higher. Also includes Roget's II: The New Thesaurus and the American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language.

ProQuest Research Library - Search for coverage of a broad range of subjects including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.

Webster's Dictionary - Librarians, teachers, and students can trust this comprehensive database of words and robust search functionality, which allow users to research language and study words in a variety of exciting ways. It’s the perfect resource for anyone interested in expanding his or her understanding of the English language.

World Book Online - Welcome to the World Book Online Reference Center, the premier online reference source-containing every article from the 22-volume print set plus thousands more. With state-of-the-art multimedia, maps, editor- reviewed Web sites, and more - we are convinced that you will find the World Book Online Reference Center to be a valuable resource!

Art

Oxford Art Online - The most comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts from prehistory to the present day.

Auto Repair

Auto Repair Reference Center - Contains information by the publisher of Chilton's on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, with repair information for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1954. Database content includes approximately 23,000 vehicles covered from 1954 to present; over 100,000 factory drawings and step-by-step photographs; over 60,000 technical service bulletins & recalls issued by the original equipment vehicle manufacturer; wiring diagrams for easy viewing and printing; specifications & maintenance schedules; Labor Time Guide & Estimator; Quick Tips, a complete guide to vehicle ownership & maintenance.

Biography/Genealogy

Biography Resource Center & Marquis Who's Who - Biography Resource Center combines Gale biographies with related full-text articles from magazines and newspapers, thousands images, and links to vetted websites. Search for current or historic figures based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as keyword and full text. Fully integrated, the Marquis Who's Who® module provides quick reference information on over 1 million additional people whose entries have appeared in more than 22 Marquis sources published from 1985 to the present.

HeritageQuest Online - HeritageQuest Online combines digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records with the digitized version of the popular UMI Genealogy & Local History collection and other valuable content.

Business/Financial

ABI/IFORM Dateline - Search a unique resource focusing on hard-to-find local and regional business news coverage of large corporations, privately held companies, local start-ups, executive profiles, marketing, finance, and industry news. Provides access to business information not typically found in national news sources. Contains news and analysis, information on local markets, and more gathered from major business tabloids, magazines, daily newspapers, wire services, and city, state, and regional business publications.

ABI/INFORM Select - Search for essential information from 515 core business periodicals. Provides information on advertising, economics, human resources, finance, marketing, computers, and more.

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry - Search more than 1200 business periodicals with a trade or industry focus. Provides users with the latest industry news, product and competitive information, marketing trends, and a wide variety of other topics. Contains publications on every major industry, including finance, insurance, transportation, construction, and many more.

Business and Company ASAP - Providing researchers with information on companies, markets and industries. From market trends, mergers and acquisitions to current management theory and company overviews. Access business and trade journals, newspapers and company directory profiles with full text and images.

Business and Company Resource Center - A fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.

General Business File ASAP - Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available.

Hoover's Company Records - Find up to date proprietary editorial content covering more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Hoover's, widely recognized as a leading provider of corporate data, delivers in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more.

Morningstar Investment Research Center - Combines in one convenient database all the fund and stock information necessary for in-depth research and smart portfolio construction. Research more than 23,000 stocks and mutual funds, build and analyze an investment portfolio, and learn about stocks, mutual funds, and portfolios.

PROMT - Predicast Overview of Markets and Technology. Use this database to research companies, the products and technologies they produce, and the markets in which they compete. Includes summaries and full text from nearly 1,000 business and trade journals, industry newsletters, newspapers, market research studies, news releases, and investment and brokerage firm reports.

Reference USA - Reference USA is a detailed listing of 10.5 million businesses with the ability to search by company name, ticker symbol, type of business, geography, business size, and more.

Career Guidance

Adult Education & Career Center - Live one-to-one resume and job search help with a career specialist. Adult learners can also get customized help in preparing for the GED, the citizenship test, or going back to school. Available from 2-10 P.M. SkillsCenter Resource Library is available 24/7! - includes thousands of worksheets, tutorials, study guides and more!

Career Cruising - Career Cruising is a comprehensive and interactive career guidance resource that provides the information you need to make the right career choice. It includes in-depth profiles of hundreds of different careers, detailed information on colleges and universities, and something no other resource has: multimedia interviews with real people in every career.

LearningExpress Library - Provides the most comprehensive selection of career-oriented and academic resources available to help with job-advancement, career-changes or re-entry into the workforce. Access over 770 online practice tests and interactive skill building tutorials. Also included are the Job and Career Help Center, the Writing Improvement Program, & Computer Skills Tutorials.

Community

Community Resource Database of Long Island - This computerized directory profiles more than 6,000 community services and resources available in the Long Island area. These are mostly private non-profit or government sponsored public agencies and programs serving infants, children, teens, adults, and senior citizens.

Computer Skills

LearningExpress Library - Provides the most comprehensive selection of career-oriented and academic resources available to help with job-advancement, career-changes or re-entry into the workforce. Access over 770 online practice tests and interactive skill building tutorials. Also included are the Job and Career Help Center, the Writing Improvement Program, & Computer Skills Tutorials.

Culture/Social History

Daily Life America - provides a vibrant glimpse into the things big and small that make up the day-to-day lives of normal folk throughout the history, and pre-history, of America. A searchable, and ever-expanding, website that spotlights the day-to-day lives of average Americans, past and present.

Daily Life through History Premium - combining the original Daily Life through History and World Cultures Today databases, DLtH Premium offers a fantastic array of information on people and places past and present. What did people eat, wear, use? What did they hope, invent, sing? These are the kinds of questions students of history always ask, and it is precisely what is missing from many available reference resources.

Pop Culture Universe - an authoritative, yet irresistible, digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present—in a package as dynamic as the topic it covers. Built on hundreds of award-winning titles for all levels of researchers, PCU provides a safe haven for investigating topics that appeal to students—without the bias, advertising, suggestive content, or questionable authorship of commercial or fan sites.

The African American Experience - the definitive electronic research tool for African American history and culture from one of the most respected publishers in the field. The two primary goals: to provide rock-solid information from authorities in the field, and to allow African Americans to speak for themselves through a wealth of primary sources. Drawing on over 450 titles, and designed under the guidance of leading librarians, this database gives voice to the black experience from its African origins to the present day

The Latino American Experience - Comprehensive, informative, easy to use. Tthe first-ever database dedicated to the history and culture of Latinos, the largest, fastest-growing minority group in the United States.

Current Events/Social Issues

CQ Researcher - Username = massapequa
Password = first 5 digits of your library card barcode
The source for in-depth analysis of contemporary issues. The award-winning The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. Reports date back to 1991.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center - Draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

Pop Culture Universe - an authoritative, yet irresistible, digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present—in a package as dynamic as the topic it covers. Built on hundreds of award-winning titles for all levels of researchers,PCU provides a safe haven for investigating topics that appeal to students—without the bias, advertising, suggestive content, or questionable authorship of commercial or fan sites.

Teen Health & Wellness: Real Life, Real Answers - provides students with comprehensive curricular support and self-help tools on topics including diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, fitness, mental health, diversity, family life, and more. Developed for teens, with their unique concerns and perspective in mind. all content is reviewed by leading professionals in medicine, mental health, nutrition, guidance, and career counseling.

Dictionaries

Webster's Dictionary - Librarians, teachers, and students can trust this comprehensive database of words and robust search functionality, which allow users to research language and study words in a variety of exciting ways. It’s the perfect resource for anyone interested in expanding his or her understanding of the English language.

Directories

Reference USA - The ReferenceUSA database contains, in module format, detailed information on more than 12 million U.S. businesses and 120 million U.S. residents. The Business Database is a detailed listing of over 12 million businesses with the ability to search by company name, ticker symbol, type of business, geography, business size, and more. The Residential Database contains listings of over 120 million U.S. households.

Education

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia Britannica - Britannica Online Public Library Edition contains comprehensive content for all patrons—from elementary students to college students, from business professionals to curious seniors. Whether it’s frogs or physics, gardening or geography, Britannica Online Public Library Edition covers it all. Extensive and thorough yet intuitive and fast, this powerful collection delivers trustworthy information that you need.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia - This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.

Global Reference Center - An extensive collection of Encyclopædia Britannica's foreign language content, offering trustworthy information in Spanish, Japanese, Korean, simplified Chinese, and French. Users will find comprehensive global content on subjects such as art, geography, history, politics, science, sports, technology, and more. Each site also contains additional local content—including culture, history, and traditions—specific to each product. Brilliant photos, detailed maps, and other images accompany the text, engaging readers and encouraging further learning.

Grolier Online - Grolier Online includes Encyclopedia Americana: in-depth information for older students and adults, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia: quick reference with rich media for middle school & higher, Grolier Online Kids for grades three through five, The New Book of Knowledge: reference and current events for elementary school & higher.

World Book Online - Welcome to the World Book Online Reference Center, the premier online reference source-containing every article from the 22-volume print set plus thousands more. With state-of-the-art multimedia, maps, editor- reviewed Web sites, and more - we are convinced that you will find the World Book Online Reference Center to be a valuable resource!

Foreign Language Encyclopedias

Global Reference Center - An extensive collection of Encyclopædia Britannica's foreign language content, offering trustworthy information in Spanish, Japanese, Korean, simplified Chinese, and French. Users will find comprehensive global content on subjects such as art, geography, history, politics, science, sports, technology, and more. Each site also contains additional local content—including culture, history, and traditions—specific to each product. Brilliant photos, detailed maps, and other images accompany the text, engaging readers and encouraging further learning.

Spanish Reference Center - delivers two products in one-each with its own unique interface. Enciclopedia Universal en Español, the most comprehensive encyclopedia in the Spanish language, includes over 47,000 articles plus more than 9,100 images, maps, and tables. Complete with a dictionary, atlas, and timelines, it’s the perfect resource for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish. Enciclopedia Juvenil provides a Spanish Elementary Encyclopedia, images, Spanish-language videos, and Spanish Learning Material specifically designed for younger students.  These resources are designed to help students sharpen their language skills while they learn new lessons.

Geography/World Events

AP Images - * Username & Password are the first 5 digits of your barcode * With millions of images dating back more than 100 years, AP Images is one of the world’s largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery. The AP Images collection is updated every minute of the day and includes entertainment, fashion, news and sports coverage from The Associated Press and other content partners. AP Images also offers thousands of graphics including diagrams, maps, charts, logos and more.

CountryWatch - CountryWatch provides up-to-date information and news on the countries of the world. CountryWatch is a world leader in providing country specific geopolitical intelligence on each of the 192 countries of the world.

World Data Analyst - This rich trove of current and historical statistics on the countries of the world makes historical and cross-national comparisons easy. Plus, World Data Analyst allows subscribers to create tables, charts, and even export the information to a spreadsheet for data crunching and deeper analysis. Users can also link to country articles from the Britannica Concise Encyclopedia. It’s ideal for research, to explore new topics for study, or just to learn more about the world.

Health

Health and Wellness Resource Center - Use this Resource Center to find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, Prescription Drugs, Herbal remedies, and alternative or complementary treatments, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, and health assessment sites as well as government databases.

Health Reference Center Academic - Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center. All in a single, easy-to-use database, the material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.

MedlinePlus - MedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together, by health topic, authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), other government, non-profit and other health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to the medical research literature. It also provides you with a database of full-text drug information and an illustrated medical encyclopedia.

Nursing and Allied Health Collection - All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, this collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.

ProQuest Health Management Journals - Find complete, full-text information from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration, including public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations and law.

Teen Health & Wellness: Real Life, Real Answers - provides students with comprehensive curricular support and self-help tools on topics including diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, fitness, mental health, diversity, family life, and more. Developed for teens, with their unique concerns and perspective in mind. all content is reviewed by leading professionals in medicine, mental health, nutrition, guidance, and career counseling.

History

Annals of American History - Explore the rich and varied history of the United States with Encyclopædia Britannica's Annals of American History Online. This valuable online chronicle provides a year-by-year documentary of American thought and action. Read the original words of more than 1,500 authors who made and analyzed American history through their speeches, writings, memoirs, poems, and interviews.

Images/Graphics

AP Images - * Username & Password are the first 5 digits of your barcode * With millions of images dating back more than 100 years, AP Images is one of the world’s largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery. The AP Images collection is updated every minute of the day and includes entertainment, fashion, news and sports coverage from The Associated Press and other content partners. AP Images also offers thousands of graphics including diagrams, maps, charts, logos and more.

Kids/Teens

21st-Century Explorer - From Encyclopedia Britannica, two levels of reference and learning tools designed for students who read below grade level, as well as English language learners and adult literacy students

Britannica Online for Kids - Designed for children 8-15 years old, the Britannica Online for Kids provides a safe search environment for kids without distractive advertising.

Kids InfoBits - This periodical database is designed for students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It provides easy access to full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Kids Search - Designed for students in grades K through 5. Kids Search provides elementary school students with an easy-to-use, graphically-appealing interface they can use to search their EBSCO databases.

Novelist K-8 - This easy-to-use readers' advisory service allows you to discover popular fiction titles for young readers. NoveList K-8 contains materials for all K-8 grade levels and includes picture books, children's "chapter" books and young adult titles. Updated monthly, NoveList K-8 is your starting place for learning about the books that you will want to read!

Primary Search - Primary Search provides full text for more than 60 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.

Searchasaurus - Searchasaurus is a colorful, easy-to-use search interface for elementary and middle school students, it provides an easy way for young researchers to experience online searching. Searchasaurus includes magazines, encyclopedias, pictures, and a dictionary.

Teen Health & Wellness: Real Life, Real Answers - provides students with comprehensive curricular support and self-help tools on topics including diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, fitness, mental health, diversity, family life, and more. Developed for teens, with their unique concerns and perspective in mind. all content is reviewed by leading professionals in medicine, mental health, nutrition, guidance, and career counseling.

TumbleBook Library - The TumbleBook Library is a collection of TumbleBooks - animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love. TumbleBooks are created by taking existing picture books; adding animation, sound, music, and narration to produce an electronic picture book. The TumbleBook Library also includes TumblePuzzles, and TumbleQuizzes, as well as TumbleResources for teachers. 

Language Learning

Byki Online - An easy-to-use drill for learning foreign language vocabulary and phrases. It is the most feature rich, effective and easy to use online language learning system available to public libraries today. Access over 80 languages using Byki's easy, highly effective learning method, including multiple learning activities and pronunciation analysis. The Byki learning method takes users through a series of simple steps to memorize words and phrases in a new language, including their meanings and proper pronunciation, in the shortest possible time.

VerbaLearn - Vocabulary learning reinvented! Learn vocabulary at your own pace and on your own time! VerbaLearn is jam-packed with great features to help you study Vocabulary more efficiently, track your progress, score higher, and simply save you time! VerbaLearn offers many courses including -Standardized Test Prep − SAT, ACT, GRE, ESL − Intermediate & Advanced, Grade Level Specific − 7th through 12th Grade, Professional Development, and Memory Loss Prevention.

Literature/Books

Books & Authors - A readers' advisory that offers new ways to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors, genres and topics. Powered by Gale's popular What Do I Read Next? series, Books & Authors combines both browseable menus and visual search technology to guide readers from every level of reading proficiency to books that match their interests.

Literature Resource Center - Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. Scribner Writer's Series includes signed essays on more than 1,600 authors and literary genres drawn from 13 acclaimed Scribner print series. Twayne World, US, and English Authors each contains the full text of 200 frequently used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors, for a total of 600 full-text titles.

LitFinder - Includes Essay Finder, a unique database of full-text essays and discursive writing based on books published in the 20th century which have been analyzed in standard library indexes. PoemFinder, the largest, most comprehensive poetry database available. It is international in scope, and covers poetry from antiquity to the present. Story Finder, provides thousands of full-text short stories plus explanations, biographies, pictures and more.

Novelist - This "readers' advisor" database has something for everyone. Adults, teens and children will be able to identify other books based on titles, authors and topics they have read and enjoyed. Besides locating books to read, users can learn more about books and authors through Author Read-alikes, Feature Articles, Book Discussion Guides, and BookTalks. It also provides full-text reviews and annotations for over 20,000 titles.

Twayne's Author Series - Twayne World, US, and English Authors each contains the full text of 200 frequently used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors, for a total of 600 individual full-text titles.

Music

Oxford Music Online - Universally acknowledged as the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of music. This great work is widely used throughout the academic and professional community, and revered by music lovers worldwide.

Newspapers

Black Newspapers - A collection of significant Black newspapers from the United States.

Custom Newspapers - Search a collection of more than 900 newspapers, both national and international.

InfoTrac Newsstand - This innovative full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section or other fields. InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 1,000 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world including Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Christian Science Monitor, The Financial Times (London), The New York Times, The Times (London), USA Today and many others.

National Newspaper Index - National Newspaper Index provides quick access to the indexing of America's top five newspapers in one seamless search: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post.

Newsday - Provides access to articles published in Newsday since 1985 as well as current editions and is updated daily.

New York Daily News - Daily newspaper from New York.

New York State Newspapers - Search this database of ten major newspapers published in the state of New York, including the New York Times and the New York Post.

New York Times - Full-text coverage of the US newspaper of record from 1980 to current. Offers superb coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts.

New York Times Historical - (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) - This database contains all issues - cover to cover - of the New York Times, 1851-2005, in full text, full image forms, including news, illustrations, editorial matter, and advertising.

ProQuest Newspapers - ProQuest National Newspapers Premier includes a balance of national and regional newspapers chosen for their journalistic excellence and regional representation. All titles are available in full text. Papers include national titles such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal and The Washington Post along with a selection of titles from across the U.S. such as the South Florida Sun Sentinel, Minneapolis Star Tribune, Denver Post, The Sacramento Bee plus other important U.S. papers.

Science/Technology

Facts On File Science Online - Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.

ProQuest Computing Journals - Search top computing journals in full text for research on subjects such as database design, software development, web commerce, LANs, WANs, Intranets, and the Internet.

Spanish Language

EBSCOhost Espanol - Busque EBSCOhost para la información sobre negocio, salud, sucesos actuales, artes, ciencia y la hospitalidad de los compartimientos y de los periódicos.

Informe - Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.Created exclusively for Spanish-speaking users, this full-text electronic reference tool is the first system to provide indexing, images and full text of popular Hispanic magazines -- not just translations.¡Informe! also features title annotations in both English and Spanish to help non-Spanish speaking staff to easily assist users. Students of Spanish, as well as non-native speakers can also easily access ¡Informe!'s resources through this bilingual approach.

Spanish Reference Center - delivers two products in one-each with its own unique interface. Enciclopedia Universal en Español, the most comprehensive encyclopedia in the Spanish language, includes over 47,000 articles plus more than 9,100 images, maps, and tables. Complete with a dictionary, atlas, and timelines, it’s the perfect resource for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish. Enciclopedia Juvenil provides a Spanish Elementary Encyclopedia, images, Spanish-language videos, and Spanish Learning Material specifically designed for younger students.  These resources are designed to help students sharpen their language skills while they learn new lessons.

Test Preparation

LearningExpress Library - Provides the most comprehensive selection of career-oriented and academic resources available to help with job-advancement, career-changes or re-entry into the workforce. Access over 770 online practice tests and interactive skill building tutorials. Also included are the Job and Career Help Center, the Writing Improvement Program, & Computer Skills Tutorials.

Adult Education & Career Center - Live one-to-one resume and job search help with a career specialist. Adult learners can also get customized help in preparing for the GED, the citizenship test, or going back to school. Available from 2-10 P.M. SkillsCenter Resource Library is available 24/7! - includes thousands of worksheets, tutorials, study guides and more!

Vocabulary

VerbaLearn - Vocabulary learning reinvented! Learn vocabulary at your own pace and on your own time! VerbaLearn is jam-packed with great features to help you study Vocabulary more efficiently, track your progress, score higher, and simply save you time! VerbaLearn offers many courses including -Standardized Test Prep − SAT, ACT, GRE, ESL − Intermediate & Advanced, Grade Level Specific − 7th through 12th Grade, Professional Development, and Memory Loss Prevention.